Home Football Women's Football Crested Cranes WAFCON 2022: Uganda suffer loss to Senegal in opening match

WAFCON 2022: Uganda suffer loss to Senegal in opening match

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Uganda fell to a 2-0 defeat by Senegal in their opening match of the 2022 Women Africa Cup of Nations at the Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium on Sunday.

Ndeye Awa Diakhate and Nguenar Ndiaye scored for the West African country against the Crested Cranes.

Uganda, who had played well but short of concentration in the final third, got their first good chance in the 31st minute through Fauzia Najjemba, but her header off the corner hit the post, to leave matters levelled.

Ten minutes later, Senegal broke the deadlock through Diakhate’s penalty after dangerous play from Aisha Nantongo.

The Cranes almost found a response two minutes later, but Najjemba was this time denied by a great Tenning Sene save.

Three minutes after restart, substitute Phionah Nabbumba was agonizingly and unluckily denied a great goal after her long range shot hit the crossbar.

A minute later, Senegal’s high press paid off as they scored a second past an on rushing Ruth Aturo, the Cranes skipper and goal keeper following a defensive error.

Uganda continued to probe for a lifeline and nearly found one in the 76th minute but, the good play between Fazila Ikwaput and Najjemba saw the latter’s shot saved by Sene.

The Cranes now lie rock bottom in Group A with no point and will hope to make amends against hosts Morocco on Tuesday.

Meanwhile on the same day, Senegal who occupy the top spot with three points, will look to seal progress to the knockout stages if they win against Burkina Faso.


UGANDA: Ruth Aturo (GK/C), Sumaya Komuntale, Asia Nakibuuka, Yudaya Nakayenze, Joan Nabirye, Ritah Kivumbi, Viola Nambi, Fauzia Najjemba, Shamirah Nalugya, Hasifah Nassuna, Aisha Nantongo.

SUBSTITUTES: Vanessa Karungi, Daisy Nakaziro, Phionah Nabbumba, Sheebah Zalwango, Margaret Namirimu, Riticia Nabbosa, Joanitah Ainembabazi, Sandra Nabweteme, Fazila Ikwaput, Lilian Mutuuzo

SENEGAL: Tenning Sene (GK), Mareme Babou, Anta Dembele, Mbayang Sow, Nguenar Ndiaye, Ndeye Awa Diakhate, Haby Balde, Safietou Sagna, Hapastou Diallo, Meta Camara.

You may also like

Leave a Comment