Home Rugby Others Wokorach, Musasizi, and Gizamba headline the U20 Barthes Cup squad

Wokorach, Musasizi, and Gizamba headline the U20 Barthes Cup squad

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Coach Martial Tchumkam announced the youngster squad representing Uganda at the forthcoming Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy.

Star high school performer Matthew Musasizi made the traveling team alongside Barbarian’s playmaker Gift Wokorach.

If your name is Wokorach, you have a higher chance compared to anyone else to be a top rugby performer in this country.

Gift Wokorach

Gift Wokorach has been a star performer for premiership returnees Walukuba Barbarians, collecting several man-of-the-match gongs.

Calvin Gizamba, named Captain, rose to the plate when he was set to play as flyhalf for the KOBs in their first meeting with the Black Pirates.

Calvin Gazimba

In his high school days, Gizamba won the Uganda National Secondary Schools Rugby 15s tournament in his final year with Namilyango College.

Mathew Musasizi is a student at St Mary’s College, Kisubi (SMACK), and became a name of many’s lips after his exploits for the senior team in the just concluded Schools championship.

Mathew kicking for points

Matthew is joined by his colleagues and schoolmates Sam Lumala, Ethan Mugabi, and Francis Bogere.

The other high school students on the team are Rodney Takan from Turkish Light Academy and Malcolm Muwoola from Greenhill Academy.

Only David Bajjananseko and Hashim Kabogoza returned to the squad from the one named last time out.

The championship kicks off this Saturday at Nyayo National Stadium, with Uganda set to lock horns with East African rivals Kenya at 4:30 pm in the fourth quarterfinal.

Uganda U20 squad

    1 Hamidu Simdilana (Sailors), 2 Edison Ariho (Sailors), 3 Sam Lumala (SMACK), 4 Malcolm Muwoola (Greenhill Academy), 5 Rodney Takan (Turkish Light Academy), 6 Moses Mununuzi (Jinja Hippos), 7 Mark Mikaya Balibali (Sailors), 8 Hamza Ssempijja (Heathens), 9 Victor Baguma (Bisons), 10 Ethan Mugabi (SMACK), 11 Bright Mukisa (Kiira Crocs), 12 Terry Edgar Okore (Njeru Hurricanes), 13 David Bajjananseko (Stallions), 14 David Awan (Sailors) – Vice-Captain, 15 Shakulu Kigozi (Rhinos), 16 Francis Bogere (SMACK).
  • BACKS:
    17 Stuart Micheal Mwayi (Kobs) – Vice-Captain, 18 Matthew Musasizi (SMACK), 19 Calvin Gizamba (Kobs) – Captain, 20 Gift Wokorach (Walukuba Barbarians), 21 Hashim Kabogoza (Rams), 22 Thomas Arthur Opio (Rhinos), 23 Fredrick William Mulindwa (Sailors), 24 Arnold Jones Ocen (Rhinos), 25 Rodney Mugume (Sailors), 26 Yusuf Ssali (Kobs), 27 Robert Sentongo (Impis), 28 Julius Oyuk (Stallions), 29 Isaiah Sserwanje (Sailors).
  • Technical bench
    Dennis Etuket – Team Manager
    Martial Tchumkam – Head Coach
    Emmanuel Katuntu – Backs Coach
    Natasha Nataatsya – Physiotherapist
    Alex Oboth – Team Doctor
    Patrick Omoding – Assistant

By: James Kavuma

Courtesy Photos

You may also like

Leave a Comment