Home Motorsport 2023 Pearl of Africa Rally: Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru joins the table of men

2023 Pearl of Africa Rally: Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru joins the table of men

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

Winning the National Rally Championship is a dream but, clinching the Pearl of Africa Rally is akin to daydreaming.

This applies to both local and foreign drivers who compete in this annual race that doubles as the National Championship Rally (NRC) and Africa Rally Championship (ARC).

The just concluded 2023 event had a new name join the table of men, Uganda’s 2021 National Rally champion Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru.

Just like Rapper GNL Zamba‘s hit Kikankane, Mubiru raved through all sections to win the 2023 Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Rally title.

The Ford Fiesta Proto driver beat defending champion Jas Mangat and the powerful Ford Fiesta R5 of Yasin Nasser to the crown on Sunday.

“My dream was to win the NRC and then the Pearl of Africa Rally. Since we have now achieved our dream, we can focus on the 2023 NRC,” Kikankane noted.

It was the eighth time the Wandegeya-based driver was participating in the event and his previous best finish was third back in 2015.

Day one penalties favour Kikankane

The rough sections of day one witnessed several mechanical problems and Kikankane too wasn’t spared as he got a steering problem.

His co-driver Joseph Bongole who is a professional mechanic was key in handling issues of the car and navigating well to the victory.

While chasing, lady luck kissed Kikankane as Jas Mangat stopped his car with engine failure, which effectively ended his day one prematurely.

Yassin Nasser also suffered a broken steering rack which saw him return to the service park and close business for the day.

Yasin Nasser’s Ford Fiesta R5

The two leaders were slapped with penalties entering the final day, Sunday, which gave Kikankane a breather at the top.

Despite Kikankane getting a puncture in one of the sections, his time was enough and all he needed was to reach home safely to clinch the title.

Other Ugandan winners:
Karim Hirji (1996)
Chipper Adams (1997 and 1999)
Charles Muhangi (1998)
Charlie Lubega (2000, 2003, and 2004)
Riyaz Kurji (2005 and 2006)
Ponsiano Lwakataka (2011)
Jas Mangat (2013 and 2022)
Hassan Alwi (2016)

By: Julius Senyimba

You may also like

Leave a Comment