Home Football Women's Football Crested Cranes CECAFA: Lutalo showers team in praises after victory over Rwanda

CECAFA: Lutalo showers team in praises after victory over Rwanda

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Uganda Crested Cranes’ head coach commended his side on the near-perfect display as they beat Rwanda 2-0 in the 2022 CECAFA Women’s Championship.

Fazila Ikwaput netted a brace as the Cranes defeated the regional rivals at FUFA Technical Center, Njeru on Wednesday.

“It was a good team performance but much credit goes to Ikwaput who put up a great show scoring two goals for us,” Lutalo said in a post-match press conference.

“We hope to have more good games and I believe that the performance will continue improving because we want to build a very strong team.”

The 2022 edition is preparatory for both Uganda and Burundi who are going to represent East Africa in the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations due to take place in Morocco next month.

“We intend to properly compete in this very tournament and also in the fast-approaching AWCON,” Lutalo noted.

“This competition is preparing us and the more we keep performing well, it will give us the momentum going into the AWCON.”

After matchday one in Group A, Burundi and Uganda are level on three points in Group A but it is the former that occupies the top spot with a better goal difference having won 3-0 against Djibouti.

Meanwhile, Rwanda and Djibouti have no points but the former is placed third with a better goal difference.

Group A action will resume on Friday with Uganda taking on Burundi whilst Rwanda will play Djibouti.


Daisy Nakaziro (GK), Asia Nakibuuka, Sumaya Komuntale, Margret Namirimu, Margret Kunihira, Fazila Ikwaput, Hasifah Nassuna ©, Joan Nabirye, Aisha Nantongo, Shamirah Nalugya, Natasha Shirazi,

Daphine Nyayenga (GK), Shadia Nankya, Sandra Nabweteme, Lilian Mutuuzo, Juliet Nalukenge, Phiona Nabbumba, Riticia Nabbosa, Zainah Nandede, Sheebah Zalwango

Claudine Itangishaka (GK), Lydia Uzayisenza, Louise Maniraguha, Libellee Nibagwire, Marie Anne Ibangarye, Joselyne Mukantaganira, Nadine Mukandayisenga, Dorothee Mukeshimana, Callixte Iradukunda, Gloria Sifa Nibagwire ©, Immaculee Uwimbabazi

Pauline Jeanne Umuhoza (GK), Judith Nyirabashyitsi (GK), Claire Marie Dukuzumuremyi, Constance Muhawenimana, Jeanette Mukeshimana, Claire Marie Uwamahoro, Alice Kalimba, Usanase Zawadi, Irera Umuziranenge

You may also like

Leave a Comment