Home Cricket Victoria Pearls Kwibuka Cup: Victoria Pearls invade Rwanda for third title

Kwibuka Cup: Victoria Pearls invade Rwanda for third title

by Kityo Kalira
1 minutes read

The Uganda Cricket national women’s team, Victoria Pearls will be seeking a third Kwibuka title down in Kigali, Rwanda.

The team was flagged off today at the National Council of Sports ahead of the journey to the annual Women’s tournament.

They have won back-to-back international tournaments; the Victoria Series in Kampala and the Capricorn Eagles Series in Namibia.

The Victoria Pearls have some changes from the side that won the last series in Namibia namely; Lorna Anyait, Malisa Ariokot, and Jimia Mohammad.

The trio were part of the U-19 team last year but Jimia made her senior debut on a tour to Namibia while Anyait and Ariokot will be making their senior debuts.

Gloria Obukor, Sarah Akiteng, and Esther Iloku make way for the trio, and the changes are to give the youngsters international exposure.

Running from the 8th of June to the 18th, Victoria Pearls will be out to add on the two titles won in 2014 and 2016.

The tournament will have four other nations which include hosts Rwanda, Nigeria, Botswana, and Kenya.

Uganda is the highest-ranked team in the tournament at 19th in the World which makes them the favourites.

Kwibuka record winners Kenya are ranked 23rd, hosts Rwanda 26th, Nigeria 29th, and Botswana 41st.

This will be the sixth time Uganda is participating in the Kwibuka tournament since its inception.

The 20 days T20 international status tournament will see teams play a single round robin with the top two sides meeting in the final.

The games will be played at the iconic Gahanga Cricket Oval and the IPRC ground.

The action will be available on a live stream on the Rwanda Cricket Association website as African sisters face off.

The Final 14:
Consy Aweko (Captain), Janet Mbabazi, Phiona Khulume, Kevin Awino, Irene Alumo, Proscovia Alako, Patricia Malemikia, Immaculate Nakisuyi, Stephanie Nampiina, Evelyn Anyipo, Rita Musamali, Malisa Ariokot, Lorna Anyait, Jimia Mohammad.

Lawrence Ssematimba (Head Coach), Lawrence Ssempijja (Assistant Coach), Tugume Imam (Physiotherapist), Edgar Kazibwe (Pshychologist), Deus Muhumuza (Analyst), Denis Musali (Media Manager), Mary Nakinga (Team Manager).

Courtesy Photos

You may also like

Leave a Comment