Home Cricket Victoria Pearls Kwibuka Women T20: Three new faces make Uganda Senior squad cut

Kwibuka Women T20: Three new faces make Uganda Senior squad cut

by Rose Agwang
1 minutes read

Uganda Cricket female national team, the Victoria Pearls will head to this year’s annual Kwibuka Women’s T20 tournament with debutants.

Set to bowl off on 8th June in Kigali, Rwanda, the Victoria Pearls 14-player squad has three new faces on the senior level.

After excelling at the just concluded National Girls Schools Cricket Week, they have been handed an opportunity to represent their country.

They include wicketkeeper batter Jimia Mohammed, all-rounder, 16-year-old Malisa Ariokot, and Lorna Anyait.

Jimia captained Uganda at the U19 World Cup Regional Qualifiers that were held last year in Botswana.

Uganda finished in fourth place in the tournament. Both Anyait and Ariokot were part of that team.

At the Schools Cricket Week, Jimia was named the best wicket-keeper with 9 wicket catches to her name.

Anyait recorded 94 runs from 9 matches while Ariokot had 107 runs and 9 wickets from the same games.

The trio has replaced Esther Iloku, Sarah Akiteng, and Gloria Obukor who were part of the Pearls team that won in Namibia.

The victorious team in the Capricorn Eagles Quadrangular Series last month remains intact apart from the three.

Uganda won the first edition in 2014. They went on to win their second in 2016 but, the Pearls have failed to register a third.

They will be hoping to end that six-year drought when the event gets underway at the Gahanga stadium.

The tournament will feature hosts Rwanda, and record winners Kenya, Nigeria, Botswana, and Uganda.

The Victoria Pearls will open their campaign against rivals Kenya at the Kicukiro Cricket Oval on June 10.

Current trophy holders Tanzania withdrew from the tournament at the very last moment. Namibia also pulled out.

The summoned team in full.

Proscovia Alako, Irene Alumo, Kevin Awino, Janet Mbabazi, Consy Aweko, Patricia Malemekia, Immaculate Nakisuuyi, Evelyn Anyipo, Stephanie Nampiina, Rita Musamali, Phiona Kulume, Malisa Ariokot, Lorna Anyait, Jimia Mohammed

Courtesy Photos

You may also like

Leave a Comment