Home Cricket Victoria Pearls Victoria Series: Pearls wins the tournament unbeaten

Victoria Series: Pearls wins the tournament unbeaten

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

The heavy downpour that engulfed Kampala and its surroundings on Sunday denied the fans what was expected to be an epic final between hosts Uganda and Tanzania.

The two had booked the final two spots in the Victoria Series, both beating the other three teams including Kenya, Tanzania, and UAE, but were not able to entertain the fans due to bad weather.

Uganda however, came out as champions since they entered the final as the team leading the table. Uganda won all its games excluding their game against Kenya which was washed out.

At the prize-giving ceremony, Kenya captain Sharon Juma was given her flowers after announcing her retirement from international cricket after serving the game for fifteen years.


Despite finishing fourth, Rwanda had something to smile home about! Henrietta Ishimwe was named the Player of the Tournament after gunning 468 points in total.

Janet Mbabazi beat captain Consy Aweko by 37 points to be named Uganda’s player of the tourney. Aweko however, won the Best Bowler of the tournament after picking seven wickets.

UAE’s Kavisha Kumar was named the best batter of the tournament after garnering 112 runs.

Uganda will now turn attention to the Capricorn Eagles Quadrangular set to bowl off tomorrow in Windhoek in Namibia.

The team will play UAE in their opening game on Tuesday. The Namibia tourney has four teams including Uganda, UAE, Hong Kong and the hosts Namibia.



By: Rose Agwang

Courtesy photos

You may also like

Leave a Comment