Home Others Hockey Weatherhead Hockey Club Retain Weatherhead Open Trophy

Weatherhead Hockey Club Retain Weatherhead Open Trophy

by Rose Agwang
1 minutes read

Weatherhead Hockey Club retained the Weatherhead Open trophy on Sunday, edging Wananchi 2-0 on penalties after the match was tied 1-1 in normal time.

The tournament played at Lugogo Hockey Facility, Kampala, Uganda had four teams participate including Weatherhead Hockey Club, Wananchi, KHC, and Badgers.

Weatherhead, who have now won the tournament six times in a row, came out on top thanks to penalties from Ashraf Tumwesigye and Thomas Opio.

Wananchi, who were the inaugural winners of the tournament in 2011, were hoping to win the trophy for the first time since 2016.

However, they will have to wait another year after Jordan Achaye’s goal was cancelled out by Opio in normal time.

Collins Batusa was named the Player of the Tournament, while Achaye finished as the top scorer with six goals.

The two teams will now switch their attention to the league, with Wananchi facing KHC and Weatherhead taking on Badgers. Weatherhead are currently top of the league with 22 points.

Courtesy photos

You may also like

Leave a Comment