Home Cricket Victoria Pearls Victoria Pearls fly to Kigali in hunt for third Kwibuka title

Victoria Pearls fly to Kigali in hunt for third Kwibuka title

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

The Victoria Pearls head to Kigali Rwanda to take part in the 2022 edition of the Kwibuka Invitational tournament.

The Victoria Pearls withdrew from the 2021 edition at the last minute after being hit by Covid but the team has been part of the Kwibuka since its maiden edition in 2014.

The Victoria Pearls have just returned from a successful tour of Nepal where they defeated the hosts 3-2. The victory moved them from 21st to 19th in the World rankings.

There are only two changes from the side that travelled to Nepal with Franklin Najjumba and Rita Nyagendo missing out, their replacements being Gloria Obukor and Naomi Kayondo.

Obukor was the best batter in the women’s T20 league and her inclusion is no surprise. Consy Aweko and Janet Mbabazi will be Captain and Vice-Captain for the team respectively.

“The Kwibuka is a tournament we take very serious especially because it has got 20 overs international status, we have a developing team and the more we expose it to high level cricket the better it will become when the qualifiers come around,” noted Martin Ondeko CEO Uganda Cricket Association.

“This is the time we have had three international tours for the ladies and this is a commitment from us to help the Victoria Pearls scale great heights” he added.

The 2022 edition of the Kwibuka has attracted two new comers namely; Germany from Europe and Brazil from the Americas region.

There are eight nations in the event that include hosts Rwanda, Uganda, Kenya, Botswana, Tanzania, Nigeria, Brazil and Germany. Kenya are the defending champions.

Janet Mbabazi who has been in prolific form for the Victoria Pearls this year will again be one of the key players for Uganda as they look to pick up their third Kwibuka title.

Senior players in Rita Musamali and Kevin Awino were also in good touch in Nepal and they will also be required to put in a good shift.

Consy Nimungu Aweko (Captain)
Janet Mbabazi (Vice-Captain)
Kevin Awino
Rita Musamali
Patricia Malemikia
Phiona Egaru Kulume
Sarah Akiteng
Susan Kakai
Naomi Kayondo
Gloria Obukor
Leona Mirembe Babirye
Evelyn Anyipo
Shakirah Sadick
Sarah Walaza

Laurence Ssematimba (Head Coach)
Laurence Ssematimba (Assistant Coach)
Imam Tugume (Team Physiotherapist)
Rita Tinka (Team Manager)

You may also like

Leave a Comment