Home Netball She Cranes Netball World Cup 2023: She Cranes coach Mugerwa names provisional squad.

Netball World Cup 2023: She Cranes coach Mugerwa names provisional squad.

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Fred Mugerwa has named a provisional squad of 30 players to start preparations for the Netball World Cup.

The squad has ten shooters, nine midcourt and eleven defenders of which twenty seven are home based players and other three are professionals.

“We are going to put the emphasis on defending, we have been scoring but conceding a lot and it’s time to avoid it. We believe in the summoned squad that they’ll do a great job even better than in our previous world cup campaigns.”

The President of Uganda Netball Federation Sarah Babirye Kityo asked the players to be committed.

“We want to remind our players to more disciplined and have their country at heart if we’re to harvest something.”

The President also talked about the funding for the team.

“We haven’t received the money from National Council of Sports but we are following closely and we believe we shall receive the funds and have a successful tournament.”

The team will enter the residential camp on Monday 17th April 2023 at Kamwokya Community Center.

The She Cranes will have some friendly matches with the men’s netball national team, the Rock, Regional tours and also international friendlies.

South Africa, together with Australia, England, Jamaica, New Zealand, and Uganda got automatic qualification to the World Cup due to their world ranking.

The Vitality Netball World Cup 2023 will be the sixteenth staging of the premier competition in international netball.

The tournament will be held from Friday, 28 July to Sunday, 6 August at the International Convention Centre in Cape Town, South Africa.

The She Cranes have appeared three times in the world cup and the highest finish place was 7th in the last edition in 2019.

  • Provisional Squad

1. Namulumba Christine Kango (Prisons Netball Club)
2. Sera Zam (NIC)
3. Aguti Godlive (UPDF)
4. Asinah Kabendela (Weyonje)
5. Amoding Harriet (Weyonje)
6. Irene Eyaru (KCCA)
7. Nassanga Shadia (KCCA)
8. Mary Nuba Cholhok (Loughborough Lightning UK)
9. Peace Proscovia (Storm Surrey UK)
10. Oyella Stella (Sirens Scotland)

Midcourt players:
1. Baagala Margret (NIC)
2. Akello Malisera (Prisons)
3. Nakibuule Joyce (Prison)
4. Nakiyunga Sarah (NIC)
5. Lunkuse Norah (KCCA)
6. Najjuka Annet (KCCA)
7. Achola Lillian (Weyonje)
8. Nantumbwe Victoria (NIC)
9. Amiya Penlop (NIC)

1. Kadondi Faridah (Weyonje)
2. Hanisha Muhammed (KCCA)
3. Nassaka Shakirah (Weyonje), Nakitto Christine (KCCA)
4. Kayeny Privas (NIC)
5. Nassaazi Bashira (UCU)
6. Nanfuka Stella (Prisons)
7. Asingo Viola (Prisons)
8. Nalule Flavia (Police)
9. Tausi Mumena (Prisons)
10. Shaffie Nalwanja (KCCA)
11. Nakitto Christine (KCCA)

Technical Team:
Head Coach: Mugerwa Fred
Assistant Coach: Namuddu Sarah
Assistant Captain Irene Eyaru


You may also like

Leave a Comment