Home Football Men's Football Uganda Cranes AFCON U-20: Mayanja summons team to deliver World Cup dream

AFCON U-20: Mayanja summons team to deliver World Cup dream

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Ahead of the U-20 Africa Cup of Nations, Uganda’s head coach Jackson Mayanja has asserted he will not settle for anything less than qualification to the 2023 Indonesia World Cup.

The Hippos, who will compete in the February AFCON in Egypt, will hit the World Cup should they make the semi-finals at the continental showdown.

“From the time I was given the opportunity to be the coach of the Uganda Hippos, I made it clear that our goal was to qualify to the World Cup,” said Mayanja during the provisional squad announcement on Tuesday.

“I believe we can achieve it. I call upon all Ugandans to get behind the team and support us,” added the outspoken tactician.

The former KCCA FC midfielder made a call of an initial 50-man squad to kickstart preparations on Tuesday.

“We are going to use this time to fully assess and examine the players and all decisions we shall make will be based on merit, meaning players must work hard to impress the technical team.”

The Hippos qualified for the second successive time after finishing as runners up in 2021 in Mauritania.

They are in Group B along with the Central African Republic, Congo Brazzaville, and South Sudan.

The coveted competition will run from February 19 to March 11 2023 in Egypt.


Abdu Magada (Gaddafi FC), Kamya Shamulan (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Denis Kaala Ssenyondwa (Bushenyi Veterans FC), Nsumba Venacious (Wakiso Giants FC), Oyo Delton (SC Villa)

Lukwago Haruna (KCCA FC), Opiru Justine (URA FC), Mpanga Sula (Maroons FC), Juma
Ibrahim (FC Leganes, Spain), Ssemayange Simon Kato (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Jimmy Ndalambi (Blacks Power FC), Samson Kasozi (UPDF FC), Ronald Madoi (Wakiso Giants FC), Kakogwe Apollo (Wakiso Giants FC), Rogers Torach (Vipers SC), Simon Mukisa (UPDF FC), Enyou Allan (Elite Falcons FC, Dubai), Kibande Cyrus (Teranova Soccer Academy), Kitariko Kiano (Kedleston Road, Derby campus, UK)

Saidi Mayanja (KCCA FC), Ivan Irinimbabazi (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Frank Katongole (St. Mary’s, Kitende), Allan Kiggundu (Bul FC), Kyazze Faizo (Manyangwa FC), Mugulusi Isma (Makedonikos FC, Greece), Jemba AbduShakur Ramsey (International House Football Academy, Manchester), Titus Ssematimba (Wakiso Giants FC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Faisal Wabyoona (KCCA FC), Andrew Kawooya (KCCA FC), Mutebi Hakim (St. Mary’s Kitende), Nyanzi Marvin (Wakiso Giants FC), Mukisa Owen (Bul FC), Christian Mulindwa (Rangers FC)

Kasinde Ibrahim (Soltilo Bright Stars FC),
Rogers Mugisha (UPDF FC), Kakande Patrick Jonah ( SC Villa), Hassan Mubiru (Express FC), Ivan Asaba (Vipers SC), Umar Lutalo (SC Villa), Issa Bugembe (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Kyeyune Abas (UPDF FC), Oscar Mawa (Italy), Emmanuel Mukisa (Kataka FC), Magogo Shafiq (UPDF FC), Dembe John Paul (KCCA FC), Kato Shaun Senkubuge (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Alpha Ssali (Unattached), Ssevuma Simeo (Rubaga High School), Kakaire Thomas (Unattached)

Photo Credit: FUFA Media

You may also like

Leave a Comment