Home Football Men's Football Uganda Cranes CHAN: Vipers’ trio, Shaban out of Cranes team

CHAN: Vipers’ trio, Shaban out of Cranes team

by Nnalubaale Sports
3 minutes read

Ahead of the African Nations Qualifier against Tanzania, Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic has named his final 22-man squad.

Among the notable absentees is a trio of Vipers SC players in defender Halid Lwaliwa, midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga and forward Yunus Sentamu.

Micho has revealed that Byaruhanga and Lwaliwa are in a process of securing moves away from the Venoms, and thus are ineligible.

Click play above to watch video of the full story

“Two players from Vipers SC namely Lwaliwa and Byaruhanga are in process of securing Visas to go for professional stints but confirmation about the teams will come from Vipers SC,” said Micho to the media.

South African sides Kaizer Chiefs and AmaZulu are amongst the teams interested in signing Halid Lwaliwa who is out of contract at Kitende.

Reports have also indicated that there is interest from Europe for the 25-year-old.

Meanwhile, Byaruhanga is left with a year on his contract and Tanzanian giants Simba SC have constantly been in contact with him.

It is said that he already agreed on personal terms with the club although there are also interests from elsewhere.

On the other hand, Sentamu has once again not honored a national team invitation due to personal reasons confirmed by the tactician.

“Sentamu already communicated in advance that he has private issues and we respect his decision but we hope to consider him in future engagements.”

“Additionally, some players had passport issues and thus could not travel with us but I’m confident the team named will do a good job,” the Serbian noted.

Among the notable miss-outs is KCCA FC new signing, Muhammad Shaban who is currently training with the ‘Kasasiro Boys.’

Micho’s charges will travel to Ethiopia on Thursday and will play two friendly games against Ethiopia and later Zanzibar before the CHAN qualifier against Taifa Stars at Benjamin Mkapa Stadium on August 28.

The return leg will be played at St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on September 3.


Goalkeepers: Nafian Alionzi (URA FC), Denis Otim (Express FC), Mathias Muwanga (Onduparaka FC)

Defenders: Livingstone Mulondo (Vipers SC), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa), John Revita (KCCA FC), Walter Ochora (BUL FC), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), James Begisa (URA FC), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA FC), Derrick Ndahiro (URA FC)

Midfielders: Joseph Marvin Youngman (Vipers SC), Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC), Isma Mugulusi (Unattached)

Forwards: Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC), Martin Kizza (Express FC), Richard Basangwa (Gaddafi FC), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline FC)

Photo credit: FUFA Media

You may also like

Leave a Comment