Home Football Men's Football Uganda Cranes CHAN 2023: Senkatuka joins, trains with rest of the team

CHAN 2023: Senkatuka joins, trains with rest of the team

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

Uganda Premier League top-scorer Nelson Senkatuka with 7 goals trained with the rest of the Uganda Cranes squad preparing for the African Nations Championships (CHAN).

The Soltilo Bright Stars striker, a late inclusion who also boasts three assists had been left out by Head Coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevich from the 35-man squad.

“Bright Stars’ striker Nelson Senkatuka added to the Uganda Cranes CHAN squad. He will be part of the training this morning at the MTN Omondi Stadium Lugogo,” read a FUFA statement on Thursday.

Micho had ignored each of this season’s leading marksmen, including, Senkatuka, Alex Kitata, Yunus Sentamu and Karim Ndugwa, going for the out-of-form Cromwel Rwothomio and Najib Yiga.

Uganda is pitted in Group B along with Senegal, Ivory Coast and Democratic Republic of Congo for the Algeria edition set to kickstart on the 13th of January and run to the 4th of February 2023.

The Cranes will set their campaign in motion a day after the opening ceremony against DRC at the May 19th Stadium, Annaba.


Alionzi Nafian (URA FC), Joel Mutakubwa (Modern Gaddafi FC), Jack Komakech (Vipers SC), Mathias Muwanga (Onduparaka FC), Emmanuel Kalyowa (BUL FC)

James Begisa (URA FC), Derrick Ndahiro (URA FC), Isa Mubiru (Vipers SC), Ashraf Mandela (Vipers SC), Hilary Mukundane (Vipers SC), Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa), Filbert Obenchan (KCCA FC), Geoffrey Wasswa (KCCA FC), Bright Vuni (Arua Hill SC), Fred Gift (SC Villa), Arthur Kiggundu (Express FC), Grant Matsiko (Wakiso Giants FC)

Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Marvin Joseph Youngman (Vipers SC), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Hussein Ssenoga (Express FC)

Mohamed Ssenoga Kagawa (KCCA FC), Rogers Mato Kassim (KCCA FC), Moses Aliro (Wakiso Giants FC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers SC)

Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Bright Anukani (Vipers SC), Ibrahim Kasule (Wakiso Giants FC), Titus Ssematimba (Wakiso Giants FC), Frank Sebuufu (Wakiso Giants FC), Cromwel Rwothomio (Vipers SC), Nelson Senkatuka (Soltilo Bright Stars)

Photo Credit: FUFA Media

You may also like

Leave a Comment