Home Football Men's Football Uganda Premier League Soltilo Bright Stars dent Vipers’ title aspirations a huge blow

Soltilo Bright Stars dent Vipers’ title aspirations a huge blow

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

Soltilo Bright Stars FC made Vipers SC’s title hunt harder after beating them 1-0 in the Uganda Premier League on Tuesday.

Peter Emmanuel Loki’s all-important goal at Kavumba Recreation Grounds was enough to send the Venoms home with empty hands.

The hosts had the opening chance of the game, but Noordin Bunjo’s seventh-minute shot was denied by goalkeeper Fabien Mutombora.

In the 10th minute, Vipers got into full gear and nearly scored but Milton Karisa’s strong effort was brilliantly saved by goalkeeper Hassan Matovu.

A minute after the restart, Vipers were yet again denied, this time by the woodwork after Karim Watambala’s shot.

At the 57th-minute mark, the Kitende side yet again wasted another goal-scoring opportunity as Karisa rattled the post, with Matovu well beaten.

Five minutes later, Bright Stars, against the run of play, broke the deadlock through Peter Emmanuel Loki, who capitalized on a defensive mix-up to slot the ball home, in an empty net.

Vipers, who stayed second with 45 points, continue to trail leaders SC Villa by a point with the former playing a game less.

Alex Isabirye’s charges will seek to make an instant response when they visit the bottom side Onduparaka FC.

Meanwhile, Bright Stars, who have ascended to seventh with 35 points, will be back against Wakiso Giants on May 16, at the Kabaka Kyabaggu stadium.

How they lined up

Bright Stars:
Hassan Matovu (GK), Gideon Etou, Warren Buule, Fiat Cleophas, Noordin Bunjo, Ibrahim Kasinde, Emmanuel Loki, Nelson Senkatuka, Denis Kaka Omony, Alex Mandela, Johnathan Odongo.

Innocent Kitimbo, Derrick Kiggundu, J. Kaziro, Shanon Mulabi, Amos Muwonge.

Vipers SC:
Fabien Mutombora (GK), Ashraf Mandela, Isa Mubiru, Hilary Mukundane, Rogers Torach, Siraje Ssentamu, Nzau Lutumba, Abubakar Lawal, Milton Karisa, Martin Kizza, Cromwel Rwothomio.

Denis Kiggundu, Karim Ndugwa, Karim Watambala, Gracia Mpongo, Desire Tety, Abdu Lumala, Disan Ggaliwango.

By: Ivan Kaye

You may also like

Leave a Comment