Home Football Men's Football University Football League University League: Exceptional perfomers of the decade set to be rewarded

University League: Exceptional perfomers of the decade set to be rewarded

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

As part of their 10-year celebrations, the University Football League is set to reward and recompense the ultra-fine players and officials of the decade.

The League which kick-started in September 2012 had Saturday 12th, 2022 for their 10th season, where Uganda Martyrs University narrowly beat St. Lawrence University 1-0 for the title.

“Ten years ago with sponsorship from Pepsi and Nile Special, we launched the University Football League with only six universities in Kampala, Wakiso,” AUUS President Kabenge Peninah said at a press conference at Kati Kati Restaurant on Monday.

“Today, we stand here having just concluded our 10th season which involved 22 universities from across Uganda including universities in Kabale, Mbarara, Arua, Kumi, Gulu, Busitema and Mbale.”

“Together with our partner Red Rhino, it has been an exciting journey with ups and ups. We are grateful to God and excited to see that the University Football League has grown into one of the most exciting competitions in Uganda and has changed the national football landscape.”

“And so, to celebrate this milestone, we shall be recognizing the best players and officials of the decade,” Kabenge added.

Pepsi Brand Manager, Ernest Ssentongo asserted the brand’s commitment to the UFL journey and made it public knowledge that they won’t tire from offering their utmost support.

“Football is part of Pepsi’s DNA, as you know Pepsi sponsors football and football stars around the world and so we are proud to have been and to still be a part of the Pepsi University Football League which has helped grow football in Uganda.”

A total of ten categories will be recognized including the decade’s best player, goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward.

The Competition’s top-scorer, coach, tutor, team and the best eleven of the decade will also be rewarded.

“To determine the winners of some of these awards, we shall be involving the media and the fans who starting this week shall be asked to nominate the players and officials they think are deserving of these awards. A select committee will then review the nominations and (winners) will be rewarded on December 12th 2022,” UFL Chairman Vincent Kisenyi noted.

Photo credit: University League Media

You may also like

Leave a Comment