Home Football Men's Football Uganda Premier League Bright Stars stun 10 men Express FC at home

Bright Stars stun 10 men Express FC at home

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

Express FC suffered their maiden home defeat of the 2022/23 StarTimes Uganda Premier League season as Soltilo Bright Stars FC stunned them at the Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku.

The visitors netted through star-forward Nelson Ssenkatuka who came up with a first half brace on Tuesday.

The Red Eagles played over 70 minutes with a numerical disadvantage after Daniel Shabene was sent off for a dangerous foul on Ibrahim Kasinde.

Despite being a man down, the Red Eagles were the best side in the second half and should have reduced the deficit at the restart but Allan Kayiwa missed a penalty in the 46th minute.

The victory ensured that the Stars won only their second game of the season having defeated Onduparaka 2-1 in their previous game.

On the other hand, the seven-time champions were losing their second game of the season given that they were defeated 2-0 by SC Villa away from home earlier in the campaign.

Implications of the result and what’s next on the horizon

James Odoch’s charges stayed fifth on the 15-team SUPL log with 14 points after eight games while Asaph Mwebaze’s side moved to the seventh position with 11 points.

Express will visit table leaders Wakiso Giants FC in the next game on Monday, November 28th whereas Bright Stars’ next game is at home against BUL FC the next day.


EXPRESS:                                                                                                                                    Denis Otim (GK), Isa Lumu (C), Daniel Shabene, Andrew Kaggwa, Hussein Ssenoga, Allan Kayiwa, Marvin Oshaba, Joshua Musoke, Joseph Akandwanaho, Denis Otim, Faruku Katongole

Abdul Kimera (GK), Enock Ssebagala, Anwar Mustafa Ntege, Ivan Mayanja, Hassan Mubiru, Shafic Ssebyala

Hassan Matovu (GK), Andrew Kyambadde (C), Warren Buule, Ibrahim Kasinde, Emmanuel Loki, Noordin Bunjo, Nelson Ssenkatuka, Derrick Kigundu, Denis Kaka, Johnathan Odongo, Cleophus Fiat

Derrick We’re (GK), Simon Ssemanyange, Ivan Irinimbabazi, Innocent Kitimbo, Amis Muwonge, Issa Bugembe, Samuel Ssenyonjo

Photo Credit: Express FC Media, Bright Stars FC Media

You may also like

Leave a Comment