Home Football Men's Football Uganda Premier League Vipers dominates UPL end of season Awards

Vipers dominates UPL end of season Awards

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Vipers Sports Club were the biggest victors at the 2022 Uganda Premier League end of the season awards, taking home nine accolades in total.

Venoms’ star forward Cesar Manzoki was the biggest individual winner, with five awards to his name at the ceremony held at Kati Kati Restaurant, Lugogo on Friday night.

Manzoki won the Most Valuable Player of the Season beating teammate Milton Karisa and Onduparaka forward Muhammad Shaban.

He also won the Player’s Player of the Season as voted for by the 16 Uganda Premier League captains, forward of the season beating front partner Yunus Sentamu and Shaban.

For the other gong, the shirt nine yet again beat Karisa for the Playmaker of the Season after racking nine assists. The two tied on the tally but Manzoki was selected ahead for garnering more goals.

Manzoki scored 18 goals as the Venoms won the fifth league title with five games to spare. With the tally, he won the golden boot, but also won the Goal-scorer of the Season award on the evening.

Vipers skipper, Halid Lwaliwa, also won big as he scooped the Defender of the Season Award, beating defensive partner Livingstone Mulondo and Arua Hill SC’s Bright Joseph Vuni.

Siraje Ssentamu was also voted the Midfielder of the Season, with the colossus getting the nod over teammate Bobosi Byaruhanga and Soltilo Bright Stars’ Marvin Joseph Youngman.

Vipers head coach, Brazilian Coach, Roberto Oliveira has as expected, won the Coach of the Season after showing absolute dominance in his maiden campaign.

Robertinho’s side won the title with 74 points and finished a club record 18 points above the runners-up, KCCA FC (56).

To cap the evening, honorary FUFA President, Dr. Lawrence Mulindwa was recognized with a Platinum Award for his continuous support towards the development of football in the country.

Other notable winners on the night include Arua Hill SC’s Rashid Kawawa who was named the Young Player of the Season and UPDF FC, which took home the Fair Play award.

Shaban was also named the Coaches’ Player of the Season, with the 16 league tacticians the voters.

You may also like

Leave a Comment