Home Football Men's Football Uganda Premier League URA FC throw away two-goal cushion to draw with Bright Stars

URA FC throw away two-goal cushion to draw with Bright Stars

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

URA FC squandered a two-goal lead to draw 2-2 with Soltilo Bright Stars FC in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League game played at Nakisunga, on Wednesday.

The Taxmen netted through James Begisa and George Ssenkaaba while Bright Stars came back through skipper Nelson Ssenkatuka and substitute Emmanuel Loki.


Begisa headed home after goal keeper Hassan Matovu fumbled with Saidi Kyeyune’s rocket free kick which bounced off the post in the 44th minute.

Back from the break, Ssenkaaba doubled the lead five minutes after the restart, off Ibrahim Dada‘s well orchestrated move.

The Mwererwe outfit pulled one back in the 66th minute through Ssenkatuka before Loki salvaged a point for the visitors in the 88th minute.

Asaph Mwebaze‘s Bright Stars’ winless run continues but he will be utterly pleased with his side’s fighting spirit to earn the point.

However, they are yet to lose a game this campaign and that was their fifth draw in just as many matches.

Bright Stars goal keeper Hassan Matovu received the man of the match accolade.

The same can not be said of his equal Sam Timbe, whose side were punished for a lackluster second half display.

The result means the two are separated by a single point on the log, with the Tax Collectors placed fifth with six points while the Stars are eighth with five points.

What next?

URA will visit Wakiso Giants FC next week on Tuesday, the 1st of November for their next fixture while Bright Stars will play hosts to SC Villa four days later.


URA FC: Alionzi Nafian (GK) ©, James Begisa, Najib Fesali, George Ssenkaaba, Viane Ssekajugo, Living Kabon, Patrick Mbowa, Saidi Kyeyune, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Ibrahim Dada, Eric Ssenjobe

Substitutes: Hannington Ssebwalunyo (GK), Joachim Ojera, Shafik Kagimu, Jackson Nunda, Ronald Kigongo, Simon Baligeya, Patrick Matovu

Bright Stars: Hassan Matovu (GK), Andrew Kyambadde©, Warren Buule, Noordin Bunjo, Nelson Ssenkatuka, Yasin Mugume, Sharif Nsereko, Bob Olwoch, Muhammad Kyeyune, Cleophus Fiat, Alex Mandera,

Substitutes: Derrick We’re (GK), Emmanuel Loki, Innocent Kitimbo, Derrick Kigundu, Denis Omony, Johnathan Odongo, Frank Kizanyiro

Photo Credit: Uganda Premier League, Lillian Nakitende

You may also like

Leave a Comment