Home Football Men's Football Uganda Cranes CHAN 2023: Mutyaba’s beauty enough to sink Tanzania

CHAN 2023: Mutyaba’s beauty enough to sink Tanzania

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Midfield prodigy Travis Mutyaba‘s lone but sumptuous strike was enough for Uganda to down Tanzania in the first leg of the African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier on Sunday.

The rest of the action at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium was not entirely mouthwatering, but, the SC Villa midfielder, off the bench, spared time for some beautiful late drama.

The Cranes started off with the sort of urgency of a team hungry for an away victory and nearly got rewarded.

However, Milton Karisa‘s fourth minute effort after being teed by Moses Waiswa missed the target by inches.

As the game wore by, the rhythm shot down from either team as each side struggled to create goal scoring opportunities in the opening half.

The only other bit of threat in the first 45 minutes saw Uganda’s Rogers Mato head over the bar in the 23rd minute, after being set up by Karisa.

The opening moments of the second stanza were not any different from the closure of the first with both sides failing to master final-third threats.

With 18 minutes to go, Uganda were dealt a blow as young defender Ibrahim Juma got forced off for Derrick Ndahiro, through what looked like a bad injury.

The hosts tried to up the tempo in the closing stages in search of a first leg advantage, but, Feissal Salum‘s 83rd minute effort was powerless to threaten Uganda’s custodian Nathian Alionzi.

However, five minutes later, Mutyaba, who had come on for Karisa slotted a brilliant strike past goalkeeper Aishi Manula.

Uganda will be keen on settling the tie in the second leg slated for September 3 at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

The victor on aggregate will advance to the CHAN finals bound for 2023 in Algeria.


Aishi Manula, Mohamed Hussein, Dickson Job, Bakari Mwamnyento, Jonas Mkude, Salum Abubaker, Farid Mussa, Feissal Salum, George Mpole, Denis Kibu.

SUBSTITUTIONS: Abdutwaleeb Mshery, Pascal Msindo, Kennedy Juma, Mzamiru Yassin, Tepsi Evance, Daniel Lyanga, Anuary Jabir.

Nathian Alionzi (GK), Ibrahim Juma, Garvin Kizito Mugweri, John Revita, Livingstone Mulondo, Siraje Ssentamu, Marvin Joseph Youngman, Moses Waiswa, Milton Karisa, Martin Kizza, Rogers Mato.

Mathias Muwanga, James Begisa, Derrick Ndahiro, Kenneth Ssemakula, Saidi Kyeyune, Richard Basangwa, Travis Mutyaba

Photo credit: Ismail Mulangwa

You may also like

Leave a Comment