Home Football Men's Football Uganda Cranes CHAN 2023: Uganda too good for Tanzania in qualifiers

CHAN 2023: Uganda too good for Tanzania in qualifiers

by Nnalubaale Sports
2 minutes read

Uganda cruised to a sixth African Nations Championship (CHAN), after an impressive 3-0 victory over Tanzania at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

Moses Waiswa, Rogers Mato and substitute, Richard Basangwa netted for the hosts on Saturday to induce the win.

It was a relatively slow start to the game from either team, with each struggling to create purposeful goalscoring opportunities.

The guests however geared up, with their focus on trying to level the tie, and in the 10th minute, Daniel Lyanga threatened but his headed effort missed the target.

The hosts had a great chance in the 12th minute, but Mato fumbled with Waiswa‘s pass in the box before conceding possession.

Four minutes later, the Cranes netted through a Waiswa penalty, following a clumsy foul on Mato.

The Taifa Stars, in search for an equalizer, dominated possession, but were short on any clear-cut chances, as Uganda cruised to a halftime lead.

The Tanzanians started off the second stanza with high intensity in search for their first goal of the tie, and nearly got it, but Bakari Mwamnyento ridiculously missed a seater in the 49th minute.

Three minutes later, substitute Richard Basangwa doubled Uganda’s lead, after expertly heading Waiswa‘s superb freekick.

Tanzania nearly opened their account in the 64th minute, but Abdul Suleiman‘s freekick was denied by the upright.

In the 77th minute, the home team added a third, with Mato heading in an excellent cross from Milton Karisa.

Uganda have now made the CHAN finals for the sixth consecutive time, with the Algeria edition slated for February 2023.

Nafian Alionzi (GK), Garvin Kizito Mugweri, John Revita, Derrick Ndahiro, Livingstone Mulondo, Siraje Ssentamu, Marvin Joseph Youngman, Moses Waiswa, Rogers Mato, Martin Kizza, Milton Karisa (c)

Mathias Muwanga, James Begisa, Ibrahim Orit, Kenneth Ssemakula, Saidi Kyeyune, Travis Mutyaba, Richard Basangwa

Aishi Manula, Mohamed Hussein, Dickson Job, Bakari Mwamnyento, Jonas Mkude, Salum Abubaker, Farid Mussa, Feissal Salum, George Mpole, Denis Kibu.

SUBSTITUTES Abdutwaleeb Mshery, Pascal Msindo, Kennedy Juma, Mzamiru Yassin, Tepsi Evance, Daniel Lyanga, Anuary Jabir.

You may also like

Leave a Comment