Home Football Men's Football Uganda Premier League Ibrahim Orit nets Vipers SC past URA FC

Ibrahim Orit nets Vipers SC past URA FC

by Nnalubaale Sports
1 minutes read

Vipers SC grinded out an important 1-0 victory away at URA FC at the Nakisunga Saza Grounds, on Saturday.

Ibrahim Orit netted the sole goal in a hugely cagey meeting as the Venoms picked a second successive victory at the Tax Collectors’ territory.

This follows last season’s 3-0 triumph, which was only the second for the Kitende based outfit in the league since they joined the top-flight in 2006.

It’s also the sixth game for Vipers without a defeat this season, following match-day two’s 1-0 loss to KCCA FC. In the process, they have won five and drawn just once.

It was a cagey first half, with less goalscoring opportunities, with Patrick Mbowa‘s bad injury the only highlight. The defender collided with his goalkeeper Alionzi Nafian, to have him stretchered off.

The hosts kick-started the second on a high note and threatened for an opener in the 55th minute, but Derrick Ndahiro‘s powerful low-drive was superbly thwarted by Vipers custodian Alfred Macumu Mudekereza.

The defending champions then broke the deadlock with 20 minutes to play, with Orit’s effort taking a huge deflection off defender Benjamin Nyakoojo before evading Nafian into the net.

Five minutes later, the Taxmen kept the search for a leveller, but Mudekereza was yet again excellent as he denied a strong hit by Saidi Kyeyune.

The Venoms have now won four on the bounce and are third on the log with 17 points in eight matches. They will host SC Villa on Tuesday at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende in their next match.

Meanwhile, on the same day ninth-placed URA (10 points in nine matches), will be guests of Maroons FC at the Luzira Playgrounds.


Alionzi Nafian (GK/C), Patrick Mbowa, James Begisa, Derrick Ndahiro, Najib Fesali, Saidi Kyeyune, Ibrahim Dada, Living Kabon, Hudu Mulikyi, Salim Abdallah, George Senkaaba

Hannington Ssebwalunyo, Alou Kokas, Hassan Kalega, Jackson Nunda, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Eric Ssenjobe, Vianne Sekajugo

Alfred Macumu Mudekereza (GK), Ashraf Mandela, Hilary Mukundane, Murushid Juuko, Siraje Ssentamu, Isa Mubiru, Ibrahim Orit, Bright Anukani, Milton Karisa (C), Abubakar Lawal, Cromwel Rwothomio

Denis Kiggundu, Bashir Asiku, Darcy Mbaka, Najib Yiga, Karim Watambala, Disan Ggaliwango, Olivier Osomba

Photo Credit: Vipers SC Media

You may also like

Leave a Comment